Crafting With Cat Hair


Look at what I found on Etsy today…Crafting With Cat Hair, which was actually even featured on their “How Tuesday” blog. Not only that, but I found items for sale that people have made using their cat’s hair. I cannot believe there is a market for this, but apparently there is. I don’t own a cat because I am allergic to all of their damn hair that gets everywhere…and I’m not a huge fan of cats anyway, but to think that people actually collect their cat’s hair and use it to make things is mind blowing to me!

In researching this, I have found that the most common ‘craft” people make from their cat’s hair is a tiny little cat finger puppet. I will just give you my own quick overview:

1. Collect cat hair. (That shouldn’t be hard to do since they shed like it’s their  job! However, if you really want the good stuff, you should brush your cat, or so they say.)

2. Make a tiny double template shaped like a cat out of cardboard and wrap it with packing tape, to keep it dry. (You’ll see why…)

3. Wrap the template in cat hair and wet it using hot water and dish detergent. (It’s gonna get clumpy)

4. Let it dry, and decorate as you see fit.

That, my friends, is a finished product some woman made for one of her co-workers and left on his keyboard for him. She states he isn’t a car lover, but really liked it. Let me just say this…if I worked with this lady and she left me a homemade cat hair finger puppet on my desk, she would be choking it up as a hairball because I would shove it right down her throat.

Moving on…

I continued to scour Etsy and learned that cat hair jewelry is chic…and by chic I mean disgusting, yet still for sale. Enjoy:

Yes cat lovers, for $35 you too can have earrings made from your cat’s hair. Here’s what the seller has to say:

– Contact me when you are ready to begin.
– Mail me your cat’s hair, approx. two or three good handfuls. 
( I will email my address to you )
– Give me 1 to 2 weeks to create the earrings.
– When I have finished, I will post them as: RESERVED FOR 
(your cat’s name).

Gahhhhh! Two or three good handfuls of your cat’s hair? Gahhhh!

You know you need a matching necklace, right? Well here ya go.

You better get a few more handfuls of your cat’s hair because those balls on the necklace are pretty big. You better dig a little deeper into your piggy bank too, because she is charging $150.00 for that! (Yes, I said $150.00!)

What? You want a cat hair necklace that is a little more snazzy? Fear not, there’s more to choose from! You are going to have to dig even deeper into your pockets though. By the way, your peasant cat’s hair is not good enough for the making of any of the following. These are made with her purebred ragamuffin cat’s hair. Ooooooo!

Oberon Cat Hair Neck Sculpture. – $220.00.

Wire Caged Felted Cat Hair Pendant – $220.00

Bubbles Sculptural Felted Cat Hair Neckpiece – $220.00

I’m loving her description:

What to wear to that gala musical event or
to your friends art opening? This necklace. 

This is a conversational piece in its own right with its 
white soft “puffs” and shimmering wire wrapped leather. 
It is substantial yet sits lightly on your chest.
And, those puffs of fluff? Felted cat hair!

Oh, and she “knows it is tempting to touch and stroke the soft hair orbs, but, they will stay clean and maintain their shape if touching is left to a minimum!”   Come on now, you know everyone is going to want to touch that. OK  nobody is really going to want to touch that, but the wacky wearer would totally ask people to. “You have to pet my cat hair necklace! It’s so soft!” ((shudder))

…and finally for the people who may not have over $200.00 to spend, but want some bang for their buck…

Cat Hair Necklace – $130.00. Felted puffs .5 – 1 inch in size.

I think I feel hives forming on my neck just by having posted that!

So there you have it…a book on how to make crafts from your very own cat hair, a quick tutorial for a cat hair finger puppet, and some exquisite cat hair jewelry. I had no idea anything like the aforementioned even existed before today, and now I think true “cat people” are even crazier than I ever did before. It’s just too bizarre for me!

I have two dogs, and I sweep up their hair non-stop because it drives me crazy. I cannot fathom doing anything with it besides throwing it out while mumbling curses about how much they shed! I also keep a lint roller handy at all times because I cannot stand to look down and see any of their hair on my clothes. The thought of crafting their hair into a friggin puppet or wearing it as jewelry is beyond comprehension.

I will have you know that I was a giant bundle of itchy the entire time I wrote this post, and had to stop typing every few minutes to scratch myself a little bit. I may need to take some Benedryl in a minute because my skin is crawling!! Damn you crazy cat hair crafters…damn you.

Crafting With Cat Hair…That’s Shitsy!

4 Comments

Filed under That's Shitsy!

4 responses to “Crafting With Cat Hair

  1. going to andromeda

    I once saw something on tv about this lady who spun dog hair and knitted stuff with it.

  2. yeahitscyerra

    SICK! ewww

  3. uhhh I love my cat, but this is just disgusting,,,

  4. Pingback: The Desktop Cat Seat | Oh Yes They Did!

Leave a Reply

