The Desktop Cat Seat


Look at what I found on Pinterest today…a Desktop Cat Seat. I am starting to think I should just make a separate section on my blog about crazy items cat people will buy, because I keep on finding things like this. (If you haven’t read them, please refer to my other posts: Crafting With Cat Hair, Cat Toy Tampon,  and Hats For Cats.)

Anyway, I see this pinned a whole bunch of times on Pinterest and feel the need to investigate further. I found it on the Brookstone  site and apparently this is a HOT seller because it’s totally out of stock! (C’mon…really cat people?!?)

Here’s the exciting description of the product:

Our Desktop Cat Seat gives cats a comfortable place to rest on the desk that’s out of the way, yet still only an arm’s length from a scratch on the belly. Designed for cat owners who work in a home or small office, this indispensable item maintains that all-important distance between paws and keyboard, while giving your cat a cozy nesting box that’s still within easy reach of affection. The soft cushion and high walls will appeal to your cats, while you’ll appreciate the solid pine construction in a choice of attractive finishes. It can be clamped firmly to either side of the desk, or simply placed flat on top–felt pads protect your furniture. Can support a 20-lb. cat, and even small dogs. Cushion cover is machine-washable. 16 1/4″ w x 11″ d x 5″ h.

The people’s comments about the product cracked me up:

*My cat loves this! Now I can get work done! My other cat is jealous, so I’ll have to get another one! (Wait, your cat stops you from doing work? Your other cat is actually jealous? You’re going to have them sit like bookends on your desk while you work on your computer? Wow, your life is way too exciting for me!)

*I have several cats and they actually fight over who gets to lay in it! Sometimes they even double up! (Once I read the words “several cats”, I knew this would be a winner!)

*Our cats always seem to lay on the mouse pad, making work difficult. This gives them a new spot to hang out! It took them a week to use it. (Hey, here’s a thought, shoo the damn cats off your desk when you’re working! Problem solved!)

The comments go on and on, but you get the point. Cat people love this silly product.

Oh, did I mention that it retails for $70.00? Yeah, that’s right…$70.00 so your kitty cat has a place to lay, other than directly on your desk, while you get something accomplished. I cannot believe it. Whatever happened to that free spot on the windowsill? God forbid Sir Fluffy Pain-in-the-Ass should have to suffer the indignity of that, huh?

Maybe it’s because I am a dog person, but I cannot fathom any of this. Cat people let their cats rule the roost, and then buy items like this to perpetuate it. Do you know where my dogs are laying right now, while I type this blog post? They are in the hallway. They don’t feel the need to be up my ass every second of the day, and they most certainly do not get on my desk or countertops. No dog will need a special $70.00 place to lay so they can be close to you. Dogs make themselves comfortable wherever is easiest.  Dogs know their place in life, and cats don’t. That’s just how it is.

So there you have it…Desktop Cat Seat…I dub thee Unpinteresting, and a complete waste of $70.00.

5 Comments

Filed under Unpinteresting

5 responses to “The Desktop Cat Seat

  1. You obviously don’t have cats. Cats are a major nuisance and sleep wherever they please. No manners at all. And I don’t know of any cat who is going to sleep on something that you buy specifically for it to lay on! Dogs are much more considerate creatures than cats. I do take the Mom Person pretty much wherever I go.

  2. thinkdammit

    This is hilarious! I’m a cat lover (“we” have two cats); my husband is not…however, guess who recently found this product existed and is seriously contemplating getting it for his “buddy”? Gotta love my non-cat lovin’ man!!!!

Leave a Reply

