Bad Non-Candy Easter Basket Ideas


I was the kid who was allergic to regular chocalte and had to get white chocolate very year in my basket. My parents tried to say I got "special" chocolate, but my brother and the neighborhood kids all made fun of me. Yayyyy!

I was the kid who was allergic to regular chocolate and had to get white chocolate every year in my basket. My parents tried to say I got “special” chocolate, but my brother and the neighborhood kids all made fun of me. Yayyyy!


Happy almost Easter everyone! It’s time to get those Easter baskets together, and I know lots of people look for great non-candy items for their baskets. I get that. My daughter is getting older so now she wants things like i-tunes cards, gift cards, nail polish, accessories, etc…however, I found some real winners today when I went online to see what other people put in their children’s baskets. By the way, none of these are a joke either…people actually suggested these.

Polished Rocks...What kid WANTS polished rocks?!?

Polished Rocks…What kid WANTS polished rocks?!?

Pine Cones...because your child can make cute crafts out of them. Yeah, OK.

Pine Cones…because your child can make cute crafts out of them. Yeah, OK.

Granola...just put it in a bag and tell them it's what the Easter Bunny eats. I'm sure they will be thrilled.

Granola…just put it in a bag and tell them it’s what the Easter Bunny eats. I’m sure they will be thrilled.

Veggie Crisps...because every kid wants this in their basket. They also said you could cut up real, fresh veggies if you have time. Thrilling.

Veggie Crisps…because every kid wants this in their basket. They also said you could cut up real, fresh veggies if you have time. Thrilling.

A wedding picture of their parents. (I SWEAR someone said this!) "Look honey, it's your first Easter...and you were at our wedding!"

A wedding picture of their parents. (I SWEAR someone said this!) “Look honey, it’s your first Easter…and you were at our wedding!”

Fresh fruit cut into cote shapes. "They'll forget all about the candy!" No they won't!

Fresh fruit cut into cute shapes. “They’ll forget all about the candy!” No they won’t!

Their "very own" boxes of band-aids. I guess so they don't have to bother you with that whole "I'm bleeding" thing while you secretly scarf down your own hidden candy!

Their “very own” boxes of band-aids. I guess so they don’t have to bother you with that whole “I’m bleeding” thing while you secretly scarf down your own hidden candy!

Wool/felt Easter Eggs...because these will provide minutes, er, hours of entertainment.

Wool/felt Easter Eggs…because these will provide minutes, er, hours of entertainment.

You can cut out animal pictures from National Geographic, and put them in the Easter eggs. After the hunt, the kids can sort them as to where they might live. Wow, that sounds fun.

You can cut out animal pictures from National Geographic, and put them in the Easter eggs. After the hunt, the kids can sort them as to where they might live. Wow, that sounds fun.

An extra 15 minute bedtime delay coupon...how generous...they get to watch half of a show on Nickelodeon.

An extra 15 minute bedtime delay coupon…how generous…they get to watch half of a show on Nickelodeon.

Buy a few puzzles and put all of the different pieces in the egss. After the hunt, give the kids the boxes, and have them swap pieces until they all have their "own" puzzle pieces. Then they can do the puzzles. I have 3 nephews and 2 nieces. This would cause a meltdown of epic proportions. Trust me.

Buy a few puzzles and put all of the different pieces in the eggs. After the hunt, give the kids the boxes, and have them swap pieces until they all have their “own” puzzle pieces. Then they can do the puzzles. I have 3 nephews and 2 nieces. This would cause a meltdown of epic proportions. Trust me.

and finally…

A pedometer...so they can walk off all of that candy they didn't get!

A pedometer…so they can walk off all of that candy they didn’t get!

Come on…. it’s one stinking day a year people! Give them a some candy and then other things that actually enjoyable!

Happy Easter everyone…and my deepest condolences to the kids who get any of the aforementioned items. Your parents are about as fun as watching paint dry.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amazon Treasures, Etsy, Internet Scores, That's Shitsy!, Truth, Unpinteresting

Leave a Reply

